Week Eight Reading

I was really impressed by my classmate’s selections and I am looking forward to discussing each of these pieces later today!  I was particularly fascinated by the video on homelessness that was selected.  Whenever we think of book clubs, we immediately assume books must be involved, but I think that there are just as many perspectives and ideas to draw out of the video that was provided as what one would find in a book.  And I really like the idea of privileging alternative informational mediums for critical dialogue within your community. It makes me wonder how far you could push the book club format to include things such as real-world experiences, blogs, video clips, forum posts/comments, email threads, etc.  Wouldn’t it have been interesting if someone had selected an si.all.open email thread for their Socratic seminar?  How would that conversation be different from one based on a book?

4 thoughts on “Week Eight Reading

  1. Meggan says:

    I love the idea of an si.all.open thread for discussion. There are so many places a discussion could go based on that!

  2. Kristin says:

    What an interesting anthropological discussion that would be! Welcome back – can’t wait to hear how things went last week.

  3. Naomi says:

    I (also) love the idea of an si thread. We’ve done that a bit in our 500 discussion section to very rich results! It’s an interesting shared experience that we all have in isolation of each other. I regularly want to discuss things with my boyfriend, but he’s got a law.open thread of his own to wretch about!

  4. Caroline says:

    The idea of embracing different media within the book club discussion format appeals to me, and makes me wonder about rebranding what we think of as a book club as a “discussion group” or some similar (but more appealing) term. Round table? I don’t know. But I think reframing the concept of and media used for book clubs could definitely help to change how patrons view them.

Leave a Reply

